Keren Cytter, Fashions, 2019, filmstill, Courtesy of the artist.Keren Cytter, Fashions, 2019, filmstill, Courtesy of the artist.

Keren Cytter plays Bruce and Norman Yonemoto

Kunstverein in Hamburg
30.9.2022, 7 pm

An Impotent Metaphor, 1979
Bruce & Norman Yonemoto
42:54 min

Fashions, 2019
Keren Cytter
25 min

Keren Cytter in conversation with Nicholas Tammens

In the context of the exhibition Mirror of Desire

Please join us with artist and filmmaker Keren Cytter on Friday 30 September for a screening of Bruce and Norman Yonemoto’s An Impotent Metaphor (1979) and Keren Cytter’s Fashions (2019), followed by a conversation with the artist.
 
Keren Cytter (*Tel Aviv, 1977 lives in New York and Münster) makes films which—much like the Yonemoto brothers—borrow from the semantic language of the popular media of their time. These humorous and often unnerving videos put the conventions of theatre and cinema into dialogue with the vernacular forms of YouTube tutorials, social media, and reality television. Cytter’s filmmaking looks to how these media construct our notions of reality and influences our relationships with each other.
 
In her video Fashions (2019), Cytter uses overlapping narratives to develop what we might see as an ambivalent angle on big themes: misogyny, sexism, age discrimination, human exploitation, and the appropriation of political symbols by the fashion industry. By showing the ubiquity of contemporary media, she looks to the familiar, normative role that the representation of violence plays in our everyday lives while evoking a distrust of its state of acceptance. While the Yonemoto’s An Impotent Metaphor (1979) features as the second film in their Soap Opera Series—which includes Based on Romance (1979) and Green Card: An American Romance (1982)—by focusing on the romantic drama of the L.A art scene at the end of the 1970s. Here cliché-driven characters express the banality of idealized romance, boredom, and the demands of fantasy. Norman Yonemoto himself stars as an artist working against the dominant culture, with some irony, he claims to make art to "expose the derivative nature of the romantic ideal" and "promote the examination of our personal contexts." In both films, we see how the dominance of media representations shapes our reality, our desires, our ambitions, our shortcomings, our notions of love, our attempts at happiness.
 
Keren Cytter’s videos have been shown in solo exhibitions at Düsseldorf Kunstverein, Düsseldorf (2021); Winterthur Kunstmuseum, Winterthur (2020); Center for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv (2019); Museion Bolzano, Bolzano (2019), Künstlerhaus - Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz (2016); Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago (2015), Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen (2014); State of Concept, Athens (2014), Tate Modern, London (2012), Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam (2011); München Kunstverein (2011); Kunsthaus Baselland, Basel (2010); Moderna Museet, Stockholm (2010); Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2010);
 
She was awarded the Joseph Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship (2021), Absolut Art Award, Stockholm (2009), Ars Viva Prize, Kulturkeis der Deutschen Wirschaft, Berlin (2008) and the Bâloise Art Prize at Art Basel (2006).
 
Bruce (1949, USA) and Norman Yonemoto (1946-2014, USA) are artists working with single-channel video and multimedia installations. Born to Japanese-American parents, the brothers were grew up in Silicon Valley in the immediate post-war period.In 1968, Norman moved to Los Angeles where he attended UCLA before completing an MFA at the American Film Institute Center for Advanced Studies. In 1972 Bruce earned a BA from the University of California, Berkeley and continued his studies at the Sokei Art Institute in Tokyo. After returning from Japan in 1975, Bruce completed an MFA at Otis Art Institute in Los Angeles.  The two founded KYO-DAI Productions in 1976.
 
Their work has been exhibited around the world, including at the Japanese American National Museum, Los Angeles, California Video at the Getty Research Institute, the Long Beach Museum of Art, the 11th Paris Biennale, the Tokyo Biennale, and the Tokyo Biennale. Paris Biennial; Los Angeles Contemporary Exhibitions (LACE); Hara Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo; Image Forum, Tokyo; Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; American Film Institute National Video Festival, Los Angeles; Museum of Modern Art, New York; Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington DC; Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York; Santa Monica Museum of Art; Wexner Center for the Arts, Columbus, Ohio; and Kunstverein in Cologne.
 
Bruce Yonemoto is a professor and adjunct professor of Studio Art at the University of California and a recipient of the Guggenheim Fellowship this year.

Keren Cytter, Fashions, 2019, filmstill, Courtesy of the artist.Keren Cytter, Fashions, 2019, filmstill, Courtesy of the artist.

Keren Cytter plays Bruce and Norman Yonemoto

Kunstverein in Hamburg
30.9.2022, 19.00 Uhr

An Impotent Metaphor, 1979
Bruce & Norman Yonemoto
42:54 min

Fashions, 2019
Keren Cytter
25 min

Keren Cytter im Gespräch mit Nicholas Tammens

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung Mirror of Desire

Am Freitag, 30. September, zeigen wir gemeinsam mit der Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Keren Cytter, Bruce und Norman Yonemotos An Impotent Metaphor (1979) und Keren Cytters Fashions (2019), gefolgt von einem Gespräch mit der Künstlerin.

Keren Cytter (*Tel Aviv, 1977, lebt in New York und Münster) macht Filme, die - ähnlich wie die der Yonemoto-Brüder - der semantischen Sprache von populären Medien ihrer Zeit entlehnt sind. Diese humorvollen und oft verstörenden Videos bringen die Konventionen des Theaters und des Kinos in einen Dialog mit den volkstümlichen Formen von YouTube-Tutorials, sozialen Medien und Reality-TV. Cytters Filmemachen untersucht, wie diese Medien unsere Vorstellungen von Realität konstruieren und unsere Beziehungen zueinander beeinflussen.

In ihrem Video Fashions (2019) verwendet Cytter überlappende Erzählungen, um einen ambivalenten Blickwinkel auf zentrale Themen zu lenken: Misogynie, Sexismus, Altersdiskriminierung, menschliche Ausbeutung und die Aneignung politischer Symbole durch die Modeindustrie. Indem sie die Allgegenwärtigkeit der zeitgenössischen Medien aufzeigt, verweist sie auf die vertraute, normative Rolle, welche die Darstellung von Gewalt in unserem Alltag spielt, während sie gleichzeitig ein Misstrauen gegenüber dem Zustand ihrer Akzeptanz hervorruft. Yonemotos An Impotent Metaphor (1979), der zweite Film in ihrer Soap Opera Series - zu der auch Based on Romance(1979) und Green Card: An American Romance(1982) zählen - befasst sich mit dem romantischen Drama der Kunstszene von L.A der späten 1970er Jahre. Die klischeehaften Charaktere bilden die Banalität einer idealisierten Romanze, Langeweile und die Erwartungen an die Fantasie ab. Norman Yonemoto selbst spielt die Hauptrolle eines Künstlers, der gegen die vorherrschende Kultur arbeitet. Mit einer gewissen Ironie behauptet er, Kunst zu machen, um "die Abweichung des romantischen Ideals zu entlarven" und "die Untersuchung unserer persönlichen Zusammenhänge zu fördern". In beiden Filmen sehen wir, wie die Dominanz der medialen Darstellungen unsere Realität, unsere Wünsche, unsere Ambitionen, unsere Unzulänglichkeiten, unsere Vorstellungen von Liebe und unsere Versuche, glücklich zu sein, prägt.

Keren Cytters Videos wurden in Einzelausstellungen im Düsseldorfer Kunstverein, Düsseldorf (2021); Winterthur Kunstmuseum, Winterthur (2020); Center for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv (2019); Museion Bolzano, Bolzano (2019), Künstlerhaus - Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz (2016) gezeigt; Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago (2015), Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Kopenhagen (2014); State of Concept, Athen (2014), Tate Modern, London (2012), Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam (2011); München Kunstverein (2011); Kunsthaus Baselland, Basel (2010); Moderna Museet, Stockholm (2010); Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2010);

Sie wurde mit dem Joseph Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship (2021), dem Absolut Art Award, Stockholm (2009), dem Ars Viva Preis, Kulturkeis der Deutschen Wirschaft, Berlin (2008) und dem Bâloise Art Prize auf der Art Basel (2006) ausgezeichnet.

Bruce (1949, USA) und Norman Yonemoto (1946-2014, USA) sind Künstler, die mit Ein-Kanal-Video und Multimedia-Installationen arbeiten. Die Brüder wurden als Kinder japanisch-amerikanischer Eltern geboren und wuchsen in der unmittelbaren Nachkriegszeit im Silicon Valley auf. 1968 zog Norman Yonemoto nach Los Angeles, wo er die UCLA besuchte und einen MFA am American Film Institute Center for Advanced Studies absolvierte. 1972 erwarb Bruce einen BA an der University of California, Berkeley, und setzte seine Studien am Sokei Art Institute in Tokio fort. Nach seiner Rückkehr aus Japan im Jahr 1975 absolvierte Bruce einen MFA am Otis Art Institute in Los Angeles. Die beiden gründeten 1976 KYO-DAI Productions.

Ihre Arbeiten wurden weltweit ausgestellt, unter anderem im Japanese American National Museum, Los Angeles, Kalifornien Video im Getty Research Institute, im Long Beach Museum of Art, auf der 11. Paris Biennale, der Tokyo Biennale und der Tokyo Biennale. Paris Biennale; Los Angeles Contemporary Exhibitions (LACE); Hara Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokio; Image Forum, Tokio; Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; American Film Institute National Video Festival, Los Angeles; Museum of Modern Art, New York; Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington DC; Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York; Santa Monica Museum of Art; Wexner Center for the Arts, Columbus, Ohio; und Kunstverein in Köln.

Bruce Yonemoto ist Professor und außerordentlicher Professor für Studiokunst an der University of California und erhielt in diesem Jahr ein Guggenheim-Stipendium.