Ongoing

HYGIENE CONCEPT of the Städelschule

Information, 6 October 2021 – 20 February 2022

Winter Semester 2021/22

Information, 18 October 2021 – 20 February 2022

Upcoming: next month PreviousNext

Rundgang 2022

Exhibition, 18 – 20 February 2022

Term break 2022

Information, 21 February – 10 April 2022

Xin Wang: Uncharting Asian Futurisms

Online Lecture8 December 2020, 19:00online
Screenshot featuring a young Karl Marx from The Leader, a state-produced Chinese anime series exploring the life and legacy of Marx, photo: Courtesy of the artist.Screenshot featuring a young Karl Marx from The Leader, a state-produced Chinese anime series exploring the life and legacy of Marx, photo: Courtesy of the artist.

Xing Wang’s interest in engaging with Asian Futurism, a still emerging and undefined discourse, has primarily been guided by an impulse to expand and problematize—rather than define—its epistemology, politics and aesthetics. While this talk explores a discursive range of examples in speculative thinking, technocratic ideologies, Techno-Orientalism, as well as vernacular, subcultural and artistic practices by Asian and Asian diasporic creatives that both reflect and defy identitarian thinking, it also hopes to fundamentally and rigorously re-examine familiar historical and theoretical frameworks that can both inform and limit how we think about speculative futures. Unique dimensions such as post-Soviet sensibilities and hauntology and resurgence of Buddhist and other quasi-religious practice will also be discussed. 

Xin Wang is an art historian and curator based in New York. Notable curatorial projects include Ink Art: Past as Present in Contemporary China, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (2013); Lu Yang: Arcade, the artist’s solo debut at Wallplay, New York (2014); The Bank Show: Vive le Capital and The Bank Show: Hito Steyerl, Bank, Shanghai (2015); chin(A)frica: an interface, The Duke House, New York (2017) and an upcoming exhibition exploring Asian Futurisms at the Museum of Chinese in America, New York. Her writing has appeared in E-flux journal, Artforum, Kaleidoscope, Hyperallergic and Leap. She has lectured widely at art institutions worldwide, most recently at the Para/Site International Conference, Hong Kong (2017); Conversations at Art Basel, Hong Kong (2018); Columbia University, New York (2018); Tranen Center for Contemporary Art, Copenhagen (2019); School of Visual Arts, New York (2019); Queens Museum, New York (2019); Taikang Art Space, Beijing (2019) and as the keynote speaker for the Asia/Technics conference at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (2019). She also served on the jury for the Xitek New Talent Award, Beijing (2018) and the inaugural open call at The Shed, New York (2018). Currently pursuing a PhD in modern and contemporary art at Institute of Fine Arts, New York University, Wang also works as the Joan Tisch Teaching Fellow at the Whitney Museum of American Art and manages the discursive archive on Asian Futurisms.

Registration

The lecture will be held in English language.

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Heute

Ongoing

HYGIENEKONZEPT

Information, 14. Januar – 17. Juli 2022

Jochen Lempert im Portikus

Ausstellung, 12. März – 5. Juni 2022

Sommersemester 2022

Information, 11. April – 15. Juli 2022

Vortragsreihe Sommersemester 2022

Vortrag, 26. April – 28. Juni 2022, 19:00

Demnächst: nächsten Monat PreviousNext

Asad Raza "Diversion" im Portikus

Ausstellung, 25. Juni – 25. September 2022

Archiv: 2022 NextPrevious

Lecture: Neïl Beloufa

Vortrag, 10. Mai 2022, 19:00

Laura Huertas Millán: Ethnographic fictions

Vortrag, 26. April 2022, 19:00

Daniel Birnbaum: Notes on the frames of art

Veranstaltung, 10. April 2022, 15:00–17:00

Vorlesungsfreie Zeit 2022

Information, 21. Februar – 10. April 2022

Rundgang-Preisträger*innen

Information, 18. – 20. Februar 2022

Judith Hopf Klasse: Grand Nizza Show

Class Project, 18. Februar – 11. März 2022

Rundgang 2022

Ausstellung, 18. – 20. Februar 2022, 10:00–20:00

Pan Daijing

Online Vortrag, 10. Februar 2022

Jordy Rosenberg: Lift Rift

Online Vortrag, 2. Februar 2022

Ulrike Müller: Moving More Parts

Online Vortrag, 25. Januar 2022

Park McArthur

Online Vortrag, 18. Januar 2022

Sam Durant: Public Discourse?

Online Vortrag, 11. Januar 2022

Xin Wang: Uncharting Asian Futurisms

Online Vortrag8. Dezember 2020, 19:00online
Screenshot mit dem jungen Karl Marx aus The Leader, einer staatlich produzierten chinesischen Anime-Serie, die das Leben und Vermächtnis von Marx erforscht, Foto: Courtesy der KünstlerinScreenshot mit dem jungen Karl Marx aus The Leader, einer staatlich produzierten chinesischen Anime-Serie, die das Leben und Vermächtnis von Marx erforscht, Foto: Courtesy der Künstlerin

Xing Wangs Interesse an der Auseinandersetzung mit dem noch im Entstehen begriffenen Diskurs des asiatischen Futurismus ist in erster Linie von dem Impuls geleitet, seine Erkenntnistheorie, Politik und Ästhetik zu erweitern und zu problematisieren, statt fest zu definieren. In diesem Vortrag wird ein diskursives Spektrum von Beispielen aus spekulativem Denken, technokratischen Ideologien, Techno-Orientalismus sowie volkstümlichen, subkulturellen und künstlerischen Praktiken asiatischer und asiatisch-diasporischer Kreativer untersucht, die das identitäre Denken reflektieren und sich ihm widersetzen. Es geht weiter darum, vertraute historische und theoretische Rahmenbedingungen, die informieren als auch einschränken können, wie wir über mögliche Zukünfte denken, grundlegend und rigoros neu zu behandeln. Dimensionen wie postsowjetische Empfindsamkeiten, Hauntologie und das Wiederaufleben buddhistischer und anderer quasi-religiöser Praktiken werden ebenfalls diskutiert. 

Xin Wang ist Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin lebt und arbeitet in New York. Zu ihren kuratorischen Projekten gehören die Ausstellungen Ink Art: Past as Present in Contemporary China, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (2013); Lu Yang: Arcade, das Solodebüt des Künstlers bei Wallplay, New York (2014); The Bank Show: Vive le Capital und The Bank Show: Hito Steyerl, Bank, Shanghai (2015); chin(A)frica: an interface, The Duke House, New York (2017) sowie eine demnächst stattfindende Ausstellung zu asiatischen Futurismen im Museum of Chinese in America, New York. Sie verfasste Beiträge für E-flux, Artforum, Kaleidoskop, Hyperallergic und Leap. Zudem hält Wang regelmäßig weltweit Vorträge an Kunstinstitutionen, zuletzt bei der Para/Site International Conference, Hongkong (2017); Conversations auf der Art Basel, Hongkong (2018); Columbia University, New York (2018); Tranen Center for Contemporary Art, Kopenhagen (2019); School of Visual Arts, New York (2019); Queens Museum, New York (2019); Taikang Art Space, Peking (2019) und als Hauptrednerin für die Asia/Technics Konferenz an der School of the Art Institute of Chicago (2019). Sie war Mitglied der Jury für den Xitek New Talent Award, Peking (2018) und für die Eröffnungsausschreibung im The Shed, New York (2018). Derzeit promoviert sie am Institute of Fine Arts der New York University in moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst. Wang arbeitet auch als Lehrbeauftragte im Rahmen des Joan Tisch Stipendiums am Whitney Museum of American Art , New York, und verwaltet das diskursive Archiv über asiatische Futurismen.

Anmeldung

Der Vortrag findet in englischer Sprache statt.