Professors

Monika Baer

Fine Arts and Painting
Photo: Julian Martitz

Johan Bettum

Architecture
Photo: Åsa Lundén, Moderna Museet

Daniel Birnbaum

Philosophy and Art Education
Photo: Louis Haugh

Gerard Byrne

Film
Photo: Heji Shin

Isabelle Graw

Art History and Art Theory
Foto: Florian Zeyfang

Judith Hopf

Fine Arts
Photo: Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Hassan Khan

Fine Arts
Photo: Büro Schramm für Gestaltung

Philippe Pirotte

Art History and Curatorial Studies
Photo: Valentina Knežević

Yasmil Raymond

Rector
Photo: Killa Schuetze

Tobias Rehberger

Sculpture
Photo: Jonas Leihener

Willem de Rooij

Fine Arts
Photo: Abigail Enzaldo, © Haegue Yang and kurimanzutto, 2017

Haegue Yang

Fine Arts, Vice-Rector

Guest
Professors

Photo: Sam Penn

Hannah Black

Fine Arts
Photo: Frank Röth

Niklas Maak

Fine Arts and Architecture
Photo: Diana Pfammatter

Sung Tieu

Fine Arts

Honorary
Professors

Photo: Rheinisches Bildarchiv, Köln

Kasper König

Cultural Education
Photo: Renate Brandt

Christa Näher

Fine Arts
Photo: Anders Clausen

Wolfgang Tillmans

Fine Arts

Research Fellows

Ayşe Güleç

Additional Teachers

Ayşe Güleç

Ayşe Güleç is an educator, author, curator, art mediator and research activist at the intersections of anti-racism, art, art education and migration. Since 2019, Güleç has been working as curator in the Artistic Team of documenta fifteen (2022). In 2021, she curated the exhibition Offener Prozess, shown in Stadtmuseum Jena, Neue Sächsische Galerie (Chemnitz), Maxim Gorki Theater (Berlin) and La Vallée (Brussels), amongst others. Previously, she was Head of the Art Education Department at the Museum MMK für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt am Main. As Head of Community Liaison at documenta 14 (2017), she established interlocal connections between artists and socio-political contexts and built up the Society Friends of Halit. She was one of the initiators of the collective anti-racist movement that implemented the first NSU tribunal in 2017. She has been active against racism for many years and is part of the Kassel Initiative 6 April. From 1998 to 2016, Güleç worked as Head of the Education & Migration Department, at the socio-cultural centre Schlachthof in Kassel in the field of migration as well as local and European education, building various networks of collaboration. For dOCUMENTA (13) (2012) she was a consultant and member of the Maybe Education program as well as coordinating training of art mediators. In 2007 she developed the documenta 12 Advisory Board as a special form of mediation, becoming subsequently the board’s spokesperson.

Güleç has given numerous workshops, seminars and talks on racism, contemporary art, art mediation and activism at Kampnagel, Hamburg, HKW Berlin, HKB Bern, Kunsthochschule Kassel amongst others. Publications (selection): vermittlung vermitteln (nGbK, 2020); The Society of Friends of Halit. Migrant-Situated Knowledge and Affirmative Sabotage* in documenta studies #01 (2018); fordern, überfordern und verweigern – Bild-und Raumpolitik(en) in der Migrationsgesellschaft (Yılmaz-Günay, 2015); Engaging Audiences, Opening Institutions Methods and Strategies in Gallery Education at documenta 12 in Kunstvermittlung 1: Arbeit mit dem Publikum, Öffnung der Institution (diaphanes, 2009).


Ayşe Güleç’s Visiting Research Fellowship for the Fine Arts program at Städelschule and Curatorial Studies program at Goethe University in winter semester 2021 is generously made possible by Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst with the QuiS21 funding program.

 

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Professor*innen

Monika Baer

Freie Bildende Kunst und Malerei
Foto: Julian Martitz

Johan Bettum

Architektur
Foto: Åsa Lundén, Moderna Museet

Daniel Birnbaum

Philosophie und Kunstvermittlung
Foto: Louis Haugh

Gerard Byrne

Film
Foto: Constanze Flamme

Benjamin Foerster-Baldenius

Freie Bildende Kunst, Cohabitation
Foto: Heji Shin

Isabelle Graw

Kunstgeschichte und Kunsttheorie
Foto: Florian Zeyfang

Judith Hopf

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Hassan Khan

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Büro Schramm für Gestaltung

Philippe Pirotte

Kunstgeschichte und Curatorial Studies
Foto: Valentina Knežević

Yasmil Raymond

Rektorin, Professorin für Curatorial Studies
Foto: Killa Schuetze

Tobias Rehberger

Bildhauerei
Foto: Jonas Leihener

Willem de Rooij

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Abigail Enzaldo, © Haegue Yang and kurimanzutto, 2017

Haegue Yang

Freie Bildende Kunst, Prorektorin

Gastprofessor*innen

Foto: Albrecht Fuchs

Keren Cytter

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Frank Röth

Niklas Maak

Freie Bildende Kunst – Frankfurter Prototyp

Rahraw Omarzad

Freie Bildende Kunst (Gasthof)
Foto: Diana Pfammatter

Sung Tieu

Freie Bildende Kunst

Honorarprofessor*innen

Foto: Rheinisches Bildarchiv, Köln

Kasper König

Kulturelle Bildung
Foto: Renate Brandt

Christa Näher

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Anders Clausen

Wolfgang Tillmans

Freie Bildende Kunst

Forschungsstipendiat*innen

Ayşe Güleç

Gastkünstler*in

Walid Raad

Weitere Lehrende

Ayşe Güleç

Ayşe Güleç ist Pädagogin, Autorin, Kuratorin, Kunstvermittlerin und forschende Aktivistin an den Schnittstellen von Anti-Rassismus, Kunst, Kunstvermittlung und Migration. Seit 2019 arbeitet sie als Kuratorin im artistic team der documenta fifteen (2022). 2021 kuratierte sie die Ausstellung Offener Prozess, unter anderem gezeigt im Stadtmuseum Jena, Neue Sächsische Galerie (Chemnitz), Maxim Gorki Theater (Berlin), in La Vallée (Brüssel) und vielen weiteren Orten. Zuvor leitete sie die Abteilung der Kunstvermittlung im Museum MMK für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt am Main. Als Head of Community Liaison der documenta 14 stellte sie interlokale Verbindungen zwischen Künstler*innen und soziopolitischen Kontexten her und baute die Society Friends of Halit auf. Sie war u.a. eine der Initiator*innen der kollektiven antirassistischen Bewegung, die das erste NSU-Tribunal in 2017 umsetzte. Sie engagiert sich seit vielen Jahren gegen Rassismus und ist Teil der Kasseler Initiative 6. April. Von 1998 bis 2016 war sie im soziokulturellen Zentrum Schlachthof in Kassel als Leiterin im Bereich Bildung & Migration tätig, wobei sie sich für kollaborative lokale und überregionale Netzwerke einsetzte. Für die dOCUMENTA (13) 2012 war sie Beraterin, Mitglied des Maybe Education-Programms und bildete außerdem Kunstvermittler*innen aus. 2007 entwickelte sie den documenta 12 Beirat als eine besondere Vermittlungsform und wurde anschließend dessen Sprecherin.

Ayşe Güleç gab zahlreiche Workshops, Seminare und Talks zu Rassismuskritik, Kunstvermittlung und Aktivismus, z.B. für Kampnagel, Hamburg, HKW Berlin, HKB Bern, Kunsthochschule Kassel. Publikationen (Auswahl): Vermittlung vermitteln (nGbk, 2020); The Society of Friends of Halit. Migrantisch situiertes Wissen und affirmative Sabotage* in documenta studies #01 (2018); fordern, überfordern und verweigern – Bild-und Raumpolitik(en) in der Migrationsgesellschaft (Yılmaz-Günay, 2015); Kunstvermittlung 1: Arbeit mit dem Publikum, Öffnung der Institution: Formate und Methoden der Kunstvermittlung auf der documenta 12 (diaphanes, 2009).


Ayşe Güleçs Forschungsstipendium für den Studiengang Bildende Kunst an der Städelschule und den Studiengang Curatorial Studies an der Goethe-Universität im Wintersemester 2021 wird großzügigerweise vom Hessischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst mit dem Förderprogram QuiS21 ermöglicht.