Ongoing

HYGIENE CONCEPT of the Städelschule

Information, 6 October 2021 – 20 February 2022

Winter Semester 2021/22

Information, 18 October 2021 – 20 February 2022

Touch Release—An exhibition of Haegue Yang's class

Class Project, 29 October – 19 December 2021

Upcoming: this month PreviousNext

Winter Break

Information, 20 December 2021 – 9 January 2022

Archive: 2021 NextPrevious

Pope.L: Alzheimers Talk

Online Lecture, 17 November 2021, 19:30

Mahmoud Khaled: Paintings, Houses, Memorials

Online Lecture, 9 November 2021, 19:00

Year project of Curatorial Studies: facets, faces

Exhibition, 22 – 31 October 2021

Final Reviews Architecture Class

Event, 9 – 10 September 2021, 17:00–21:30

Pope.L: "Misconceptions" im Portikus

Exhibition, 8 September – 21 November 2021

THE WHISTLE—Absolventenausstellung 2021

Exhibition, 3 – 19 September 2021

Daniel Lie: Rotten Energy

Online Lecture, 24 June 2021, 19:00

Eyal Weizman: Cloud Studies

Online Lecture, 1 June 2021, 19:00

Breaking Glass III – Virtual Space

Symposium, 28 – 30 May 2021

David Gianotten: Contextual Engagement

Online Lecture, 20 May 2021, 19:00

Ellie Ga: Artist talk

Online Lecture, 18 May 2021, 19:00

Hassan Khan class: AUTONATURA

Class Project, 14 – 16 May 2021

Etta Madete: OCHA-African Avant-Garde

Online Lecture, 11 May 2021, 19:00

Willem de Rooij class: Premiere

Class Project, 7 – 21 May 2021

Banu Cennetoğlu: neither a mirror nor a hammer

Online Lecture, 6 May 2021, 19:00

Elif Saydam: The House Always Wins

Online Lecture, 20 April 2021, 19:00

Lectures Summer Semester 2021

Online Lecture, 20 April – 8 July 2021

Summer semester 2021

Information, 12 April – 16 July 2021

Willem de Rooij "PIERRE VERGER IN SURINAME" at Portikus

Exhibition, 27 March – 18 July 2021

STADL: Schtorona

Radio Show, 19 – 21 February 2021, 18:00–19:00

Willem de Rooij Class: Raum I7

Class Project, 19 February 2021

Rungdang

Event, 19 – 21 February 2021, 16:00–20:00

Bani Abidi: Funland

Online Lecture, 16 February 2021, 19:00

Olga Balema

Online Lecture, 4 February 2021, 19:00

Henrike Naumann: Aesthetics of Power

Online Lecture, 28 January 2021, 19:00

The Otolith Group: Infinity Minus Infinity

Online Lecture, 21 January 2021, 19:00

Manuela Moscoso: Liverpool Biennial 2021

Online Lecture, 19 January 2021, 19:00

Jason Mohaghegh: Dreams of the Last King

Online Lecture, 12 January 2021, 19:00

The Color Curtain and the Promise of Bandung with Philippe Pirotte, Leigh Raiford and Karima Boudou Mzouar

Event21 October 2021, 18:00online
Graphic design: Mahya KetabchiGraphic design: Mahya Ketabchi

The Asian-African Conference held in 1955 in the city of Bandung, Indonesia, can be considered a catalyst of already existing political and cultural affiliations. Stimulated by the Bandung moment, this Asian-African alliance had an anti-imperialist, anti-colonial, and anti-racist rationale. Reanimating the so-called ‘third-way’ political imagination carried by the Bandung spirit, this collective research is driven by a poetics of correspondence, addressing cultural traditions while at the same time revealing translational experiences across Asia, Africa, and their diasporas.

Live roundtables will be held online and in English language every Thursday, bringing together scholars, curators, and artists to explore the political, artistic and cultural resonances of the Bandung Conference. 

Thursday, 21 October, 18:00 (CEST)

Philippe Pirotte 
Introduction: Richard Wright, The Color Curtain and the Promise of Bandung

Taking African American novelist Richard Wright’s report on Bandung as a starting point, this introductory talk aims to assess Wright’s self-positioning within the lineage of the anti-imperialist ‘promise’ embodied by Bandung. Wright was an early contributor to the leading pan-African journal Présence Africaine, and was part of the 1er Congrès des Écrivains et Artistes Noirs (1956) in Paris. He witnessed Kwame Nkrumah’s Convention People’s Party campaigning for independence from British rule on the Gold Coast (now Ghana) in 1953, and published a year later the travelogue Black Power: A Record of Reactions in a Land of Pathos (1954), illustrated with his own photographs. His subsequent book The Color Curtain: A Report on the Bandung Conference (1956) shares his impressions and analysis of the epoch-making encounter of representatives from twenty-nine independent Asian and African countries, held in the city of Bandung, Indonesia in 1955. Later on, Wright reevaluates both marking journeys in White Man, Listen! (1957), a gathering of essays in support of anticolonial movements in Africa, Asia, and the Caribbean.

Leigh Raiford 
Bandung to Black Power: Mapping Kathleen Cleaver's Radical Geographies

Human Rights Activist Kathleen Neal Cleaver came to prominence at the age of 22, when she assumed the role of Communications Secretary of the Black Panther Party (BPP), and soon thereafter helped found the International Chapter of the BPP in Algeria during the time she, her husband Eldridge Cleaver and their two children were living there in exile from the U.S.A. Yet a life steeped in anticolonial international commitments was nothing new to Cleaver. Leigh Raiford’s talk connects Cleaver's upbringing as the child of US Foreign Service agents living in India, the Philippines, Liberia and Sierra Leone in the 1950s and early 1960s to her emergence as a key figure in the Black Power movement of the late 1960s and 1970s. 

Karima Boudou Mzouar
The Key to San Francisco: Mehdi Ben Barka and the Tricontinental Conference in Cuba

Karima Boudou Mzouar has been engaging with rarely shown archive material, drawing on Moroccan politician Mehdi Ben Barka (1920–1965)’s journey through the U.S.A. in 1957, as President of the National Consultative Assembly (ANC), one year after Morocco’s independence and two years after the Asian-African Conference in Bandung. Head of the left-wing National Union of Popular Forces (UNFP), and Chairman of the Preparatory Committee of the International Tricontinental Conference (1966), Ben Barka was a brilliant mathematician, leading intellectual, Third-Worldist, and Pan-Africanist. Based on the Ben Barka Family Archive, intimate stories, and testimonies, Boudou Mzouar’s research brings Ben Barka back into the context of the U.S.A., providing a rich ground to discuss the intertwined histories of Internationalism, Moroccan post-independence, the Civil Rights Movement, as well as the solidarity with the struggles for equality in Morocco and the entire non-aligned ‘Third World’. (In collaboration with Institut Mehdi Ben Barka – Mémoire Vivante)

More info & regration link 

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Ongoing

HYGIENEKONZEPT der Städelschule

Information, 6. October 2021 – 20. February 2022

Wintersemester 2021/22

Information, 18. October 2021 – 20. February 2022

Touch Release—eine Ausstellung von Haegue Yangs Klasse

Class Project, 29. October – 19. December 2021

Demnächst: diesen Monat PreviousNext

Winterpause

Information, 20. December 2021 – 9. January 2022

Archiv: 2021 NextPrevious

Pope.L: Alzheimers Talk

Online Vortrag, 17. November 2021, 19:30

Mahmoud Khaled: Paintings, Houses, Memorials

Online Vortrag, 9. November 2021, 19:00

Jahrgangsprojekt von Curatorial Studies: facets, faces

Ausstellung, 22. – 31. October 2021

Abschlusspräsentationen Architekturklasse

Veranstaltung, 9. – 10. September 2021, 17:00–21:30

Pope.L: "Misconceptions" im Portikus

Ausstellung, 8. September – 21. November 2021

THE WHISTLE—Absolventenausstellung 2021

Ausstellung, 3. – 19. September 2021

Lydia Ourahmane im Gespräch mit Christina Lehnert

Online Vortrag, 6. July 2021, 19:00

Daniel Lie: Rotten Energy

Online Vortrag, 24. June 2021, 19:00

Eyal Weizman: Cloud Studies

Online Vortrag, 1. June 2021, 19:00

Breaking Glass III – Virtual Space

Symposium, 28. – 30. May 2021

David Gianotten: Contextual Engagement

Online Vortrag, 20. May 2021, 19:00

Ellie Ga: Artist talk

Online Vortrag, 18. May 2021, 19:00

Hassan Khan Klasse: AUTONATURA

Class Project, 14. – 16. May 2021

Etta Madete: OCHA-African Avant-Garde

Online Vortrag, 11. May 2021, 19:00

Willem de Rooij Klasse: Premiere

Class Project, 7. – 21. May 2021

Banu Cennetoğlu: neither a mirror nor a hammer

Online Vortrag, 6. May 2021, 19:00

Elif Saydam: The House Always Wins

Online Vortrag, 20. April 2021, 19:00

Vortragsreihe Sommersemester 2021

Online Vortrag, 20. April – 8. July 2021

Sommersemester 2021

Information, 12. April – 16. July 2021

Willem de Rooij "PIERRE VERGER IN SURINAME" im Portikus

Ausstellung, 27. March – 18. July 2021

STADL: Schtorona

Radio Show, 19. – 21. February 2021, 18:00–19:00

Klasse Willem de Rooij: Raum I7

Class Project, 19. February 2021

Rungdang

Veranstaltung, 19. – 21. February 2021, 16:00–20:00

Bani Abidi: Funland

Online Vortrag, 16. February 2021, 19:00

Olga Balema

Online Vortrag, 4. February 2021, 19:00

Henrike Naumann: Aesthetics of Power

Online Vortrag, 28. January 2021, 19:00

The Otolith Group: Infinity Minus Infinity

Online Vortrag, 21. January 2021, 19:00

Manuela Moscoso: Liverpool Biennial 2021

Online Vortrag, 19. January 2021, 19:00

Jason Mohaghegh: Dreams of the Last King

Online Vortrag, 12. January 2021, 19:00

The Color Curtain and the Promise of Bandung mit Philippe Pirotte, Leigh Raiford und Karima Boudou Mzouar

Veranstaltung21. October 2021, 18:00online
Grafikdesign: Mahya KetabchiGrafikdesign: Mahya Ketabchi

Die Asiatisch-Afrikanische Konferenz, die 1955 in der indonesischen Stadt Bandung stattfand, kann als Katalysator für bereits bestehende politische und kulturelle Verbindungen angesehen werden. Das asiatisch-afrikanische Bündnis, welches durch das Ereignis in Bandung angeregt wurde, basierte auf einem antiimperialistischen, antikolonialen und antirassistischen Grundprinzip. 
Dieses Forschungsprojekt reanimiert die vom ‚Bandung Spirit‘ getragene politische Vorstellungskraft und wird von einer Poetik der Korrespondenz angetrieben, die sich mit kulturellen Traditionen befasst und gleichzeitig translationale Erfahrungen über Asien, Afrika und deren Diaspora hinweg aufzeigt.

Jeden Donnerstag finden online und in englischer Sprache Diskussionsrunden statt, bei denen Wissenschaftler*innen, Kurator*innen und Künstler*innen zusammenkommen, um die politischen, künstlerischen und kulturellen Auswirkungen der Bandung-Konferenz zu untersuchen.

Thursday, 21 October, 18:00 (CEST)

Philippe Pirotte
Einführung: Richard Wright, The Color Curtain and the Promise of Bandung

Der Einführungsvortrag wird sich ausgehend von dem Bericht des afroamerikanischen Schriftstellers Richard Wright über Bandung mit dessen eigener Positionierung innerhalb des antiimperialistischen "Versprechens", das Bandung verkörpert, beschäftigen. Wright war ein früher Mitarbeiter der führenden panafrikanischen Zeitschrift Présence Africaine und nahm am 1er Congrès des Écrivains et Artistes Noirs (1956) in Paris teil. 1953 wurde er Zeuge des Kampfes der Convention People's Party von Kwame Nkrumah für die Unabhängigkeit von der britischen Herrschaft an der Goldküste (heute Ghana) und veröffentlichte ein Jahr später den Reisebericht Black Power: A Record of Reactions in a Land of Pathos (1954), illustriert mit eigenen Fotografien. Sein darauffolgendes Buch The Color Curtain: A Report on the Bandung Conference (1956) schildert seine Eindrücke und Analysen des epochemachenden Treffens von Vertretern aus neunundzwanzig unabhängigen asiatischen und afrikanischen Ländern, das 1955 in der indonesischen Stadt Bandung stattfand. Später reflektiert Wright die beiden prägenden Reisen in White Man, Listen! (1957), einer Sammlung von Essays zur Unterstützung der antikolonialen Bewegungen in Afrika, Asien und der Karibik, erneut.

Leigh Raiford
Bandung to Black Power: Mapping Kathleen Cleaver's Radical Geographies

Die Menschenrechtsaktivistin Kathleen Neal Cleaver wurde im Alter von 22 Jahren bekannt, als sie innerhalb der Black Panther Party (BPP) offiziell für Kommunikationsbelange zuständig wurde und bald darauf half, den internationalen Ortsverband der BPP in Algerien zu gründen, als sie, ihr Mann Eldridge Cleaver und ihre beiden Kinder dort im US-Exil lebten. Leigh Raifords Vortrag stellt eine Verbindung zwischen Cleavers Aufwachsen als Kind von Agenten des US-Auslandsdienstes, die in den 1950er und frühen 1960er Jahren in Indien, den Philippinen, Liberia und Sierra Leone lebten, und ihrem Aufstieg zu einer Schlüsselfigur der Black-Power-Bewegung in den späten 1960er und 1970er Jahren, her.

Karima Boudou Mzouar
The Key to San Francisco: Mehdi Ben Barka and the Tricontinental Conference in Cuba

Karima Boudou Mzouar setzte sich mit selten gezeigtem Archivmaterial auseinander, das von der USA Reise des marokkanischen Politiker Mehdi Ben Barka (1920-1965) im Jahr 1957, als Präsident der Nationalen Beratenden Versammlung (ANC), ein Jahr nach der Unabhängigkeit Marokkos und zwei Jahre nach der Asien-Afrika-Konferenz in Bandung, berichtet. Als Vorsitzender der linksgerichteten Nationalunion der Volkskräfte (UNFP) und als Vorsitzender des Vorbereitungskomitees der Internationalen Trikontinentalen Konferenz (1966) war Ben Barka ein brillanter Mathematiker, führender Intellektueller, 'Third-Worldist' und Panafrikanist. Auf der Grundlage des Ben-Barka-Familienarchivs, persönlicher Geschichten und Erfahrungsberichten bringt Boudou Mzouar Ben Barka zurück in den Kontext der USA und bietet damit eine reiche Grundlage für die Diskussion der miteinander verflochtenen Geschichte des Internationalismus, der marokkanischen Post-Unabhängigkeit, der Bürgerrechtsbewegung sowie der Solidarität mit den Kämpfen für Gleichheit in Marokko und der gesamten blockfreien "Dritten Welt". (In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut Mehdi Ben Barka - Mémoire Vivante)

Mehr Informationen & Anmeldung (in englischer Sprache)

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum