Today

Ongoing

HYGIENE CONCEPT

Information, 9 May – 30 September 2022

Summer Term Break 2022

Information, 18 July – 9 October 2022

In loving memory of Helke Bayrle (1941–2022)

Information, 14 September – 2 October 2022

The Mensa is taking a break!

Information, 19 September – 30 October 2022

Upcoming: next month PreviousNext

Winter semester 2022/23

Information, 10 October 2022 – 10 February 2023

Archive: 2022 NextPrevious

GASTHOF 2022 "OPEN HOUSE"

Event, 9 July 2022

Hassan Khan: The Infinite Hip-Hop Song Live!

Konzert, 9 July 2022, 21:30–22:45

Gasthof at Robert Johnson

Party, 7 July 2022, 22:00

MEDIUM RARE — Absolventenausstellung 2022

Exhibition, 2 – 17 July 2022

ALMOST ALIVE—Graduate Party

Event, 1 July 2022, 23:00

‘Absolventen’ prizes

Information, 1 – 10 July 2022

Asad Raza "Diversion" at Portikus

Exhibition, 25 June – 25 September 2022

Asad Raza: Metabolisms

Lecture, 21 June 2022, 19:00

Anthony Huberman: Bang on a Can

Lecture, 13 June 2022, 19:00

Sung Tieu: Ghosts In The Machine

Lecture, 7 June 2022, 19:00

Lecture: ruangrupa

Lecture, 31 May 2022, 19:00

Lecture: Neïl Beloufa

Lecture, 10 May 2022, 19:00

Lectures Summer Semester 2022

Lecture, 26 April – 28 June 2022, 19:00

Summer semester 2022

Information, 11 April – 15 July 2022

Daniel Birnbaum: Notes on the frames of art

Event, 10 April 2022, 15:00–17:00

Jochen Lempert at Portikus

Exhibition, 12 March – 5 June 2022

Winter Term break 2022

Information, 21 February – 10 April 2022

Rundgang Award Winners

Information, 18 – 20 February 2022

Judith Hopf Class: Grand Nizza Show

Class Project, 18 February – 11 March 2022

Rundgang 2022

Exhibition, 18 – 20 February 2022, 10:00–20:00

Pan Daijing

Online Lecture, 10 February 2022

Jordy Rosenberg: Lift Rift

Online Lecture, 2 February 2022

Ulrike Müller: Moving More Parts

Online Lecture, 25 January 2022

Park McArthur

Online Lecture, 18 January 2022

Sam Durant: Public Discourse?

Online Lecture, 11 January 2022

Asad Raza "Diversion" at Portikus

Exhibition25 June – 25 September 2022Portikus, Alte Brücke 2 / Maininsel, 60594 Frankfurt am Main
Poster design: Studio PandanPoster design: Studio Pandan

Opening: Friday, 24.6.2022, 6 pm
Press Preview: Thursday, 23.6.2022, 9.30–11 am (registration via Mira Starke: presse@portikus.de)

Asad Raza’s new work Diversion redirects the river through Portikus and invites the public to interact with and dip in the waters of the Main.

The river is a key protagonist in the planetary water cycle—channeling earth’s circulation of water from mountain to brook, from ocean and to cloud. As a source of energy flows, fertility, and new life, the river is often understood as a powerful deity or person, holding historical, economical, socio-political, and emotional importance. In response to Portikus’ unique location on Frankfurt’s Main island, artist Asad Raza’s new work Diversion reflects on the many facets that rivers carry. In an evocative waterscape that spans the entire exhibition space, visitors encounter a continuous stream of the Main diverted through the gallery and flowing back to the current.

At the heart of Raza’s practice is the creation of experiences and dialogues. In Diversion, the audience is invited to interact with, dip in, and drink purified water from the river. As in many of the artist’s works, human exchange is an integral part of this piece. Custodians, who Raza cast on site, wander with the visitor, explaining scientific facts, telling stories, and carrying out daily rituals, such as monitoring the water quality, analyzing its development, filtering, and remineralizing quantities of it. By bringing together the processual and the relational, the artist emphasizes in this piece the interdependence of humans and their environment.

The notion of transformation—of knowledge and substance—is highlighted by various materials used in the gallery and by actions occurring throughout the exhibition. While logs of charcoal are made by burning sticks gathered on the island, a sandbank recalls how stones crush against each other, alluding to natural and industrial processes of alteration, which are both central aspects of evolution. The filtered sediments collected from the channel provide vital nutrients for the plants to live and grow in the gallery. Inspired by the image of the river delta, all elements are connected like arteries and feeding on each other. Diversion forms an ecosystem, which the artist describes as a metabolism—the synergy of human, plant, and mineral life. Using common materials, such as newspapers, picnic tables, pipes and pitchers, Raza imagines an environment of collective memory, creating a place of gathering and contemplation. In this sense, the title, Diversion, alludes both the literal detour of the Main through Portikus and to the urgency of steering away from the course.

Diversion is accompanied by an artist newspaper edited by Asad Raza and Mathew Hale, with contributions by Liberty Adrien, Arhun Aksakal, Sophia Al-Maria, Shane Anderson, Carina Bukuts, Keren Cytter, Manthia Diawara, Emily Dickinson, Olivia Fairweather, Dan Graham, Rufus Hale, Catalina Imizcoz, Prem Krishnamurthy, Wolfram Lotz, Adéla Součková, Joe Stahlmann, Elsa Stanyer, Bones Tan Jones, and more. The newspaper is designed by Studio Pandan and co-published by X Artists’ Books, Los Angeles. 

Curated by Liberty Adrien and Carina Bukuts
 

Diversion is made possible by the support from Hessische Kulturstiftung, Kulturamt der Stadt Frankfurt am Main, and Städelschule Portikus e.V.. Additional support is provided by Oase. 

www.portikus.de

Heute

Ongoing

HYGIENEKONZEPT

Information, 9. Mai – 30. September 2022

Vorlesungsfreie Zeit Sommersemester 2022

Information, 18. Juli – 9. Oktober 2022

In liebevoller Erinnerung an Helke Bayrle (1941–2022)

Information, 14. September – 2. Oktober 2022

Die Mensa macht eine Pause!

Information, 19. September – 30. Oktober 2022

Demnächst: nächsten Monat PreviousNext

Wintersemester 2022/23

Information, 10. Oktober 2022 – 10. Februar 2023

Archiv: 2022 NextPrevious

GASTHOF 2022 "OPEN HOUSE"

Veranstaltung, 9. Juli 2022

Hassan Khan: The Infinite Hip-Hop Song Live!

Konzert, 9. Juli 2022, 21:30–22:45

Gasthof im Robert Johnson

Party, 7. Juli 2022, 22:00

Curatorial Studies Klasse 2021: Three course Menu

Ausstellung, 5. – 10. Juli 2022

MEDIUM RARE — Absolventenausstellung 2022

Ausstellung, 2. – 17. Juli 2022

ALMOST ALIVE—Absolventenausstellung Party

Veranstaltung, 1. Juli 2022, 23:00

Absolventenpreise

Information, 1. – 10. Juli 2022

Asad Raza "Diversion" im Portikus

Ausstellung, 25. Juni – 25. September 2022

Asad Raza: Metabolisms

Vortrag, 21. Juni 2022, 19:00

Anthony Huberman: Bang on a Can

Vortrag, 13. Juni 2022, 19:00

Sung Tieu: Ghosts In The Machine

Vortrag, 7. Juni 2022, 19:00

Lecture: ruangrupa

Vortrag, 31. Mai 2022, 19:00

Lecture: Neïl Beloufa

Vortrag, 10. Mai 2022, 19:00

Vortragsreihe Sommersemester 2022

Vortrag, 26. April – 28. Juni 2022, 19:00

Laura Huertas Millán: Ethnographic fictions

Vortrag, 26. April 2022, 19:00

Sommersemester 2022

Information, 11. April – 15. Juli 2022

Daniel Birnbaum: Notes on the frames of art

Veranstaltung, 10. April 2022, 15:00–17:00

Jochen Lempert im Portikus

Ausstellung, 12. März – 5. Juni 2022

Vorlesungsfreie Zeit 2022

Information, 21. Februar – 10. April 2022

Rundgang-Preisträger*innen

Information, 18. – 20. Februar 2022

Judith Hopf Klasse: Grand Nizza Show

Class Project, 18. Februar – 11. März 2022

Rundgang 2022

Ausstellung, 18. – 20. Februar 2022, 10:00–20:00

Pan Daijing

Online Vortrag, 10. Februar 2022

Jordy Rosenberg: Lift Rift

Online Vortrag, 2. Februar 2022

Ulrike Müller: Moving More Parts

Online Vortrag, 25. Januar 2022

Park McArthur

Online Vortrag, 18. Januar 2022

Sam Durant: Public Discourse?

Online Vortrag, 11. Januar 2022

Asad Raza "Diversion" im Portikus

Ausstellung25. Juni – 25. September 2022Portikus, Alte Brücke 2 / Maininsel, 60594 Frankfurt am Main
Posterdesign: Studio PandanPosterdesign: Studio Pandan

Eröffnung: Freitag, 24.6.2022, 18 Uhr
Pressvorbesichtigung: 23.06.2022, 9.30–11 Uhr (Anmeldung bei Mira Starke: presse@portikus.de)

Asad Razas neue Arbeit Diversion leitet den Fluss durch den Portikus um und lädt die Öffentlichkeit ein, mit dem Main zu interagieren.

Der Fluss ist ein wichtiger Protagonist im planetarischen Wasserkreislauf, der den Strom vom Gebirge zum Bach, vom Ozean bis zu den Wolken kanalisiert. Als Quelle von Energieströmen, Fruchtbarkeit und neuem Leben wird der Fluss oft als mächtige Gottheit oder Person verstanden, die historische, wirtschaftliche, sozio-politische und emotionale Bedeutung trägt. Als Reaktion auf die einzigartige Lage des Portikus auf der Frankfurter Maininsel widmet sich der Künstler Asad Raza in seiner neuen Arbeit Diversion den vielen Facetten, die Flüsse hervorrufen. In einer stimmungsvollen Wasserlandschaft, die sich über den gesamten Ausstellungsraum erstreckt, begegnen Besucher*innen einem kontinuierlichen Flusslauf des Mains, der durch die Galerie umgeleitet wird und in den Strom zurückfließt.

Im Mittelpunkt von Razas künstlerischer Praxis steht die Schaffung von Erfahrungsräumen und die Förderung von Dialogen.

In Diversion ist das Publikum eingeladen, mit dem gereinigten Wasser des Flusses zu interagieren, darin einzutauchen und es zu trinken. Wie in vielen Werken des Künstlers ist der menschliche Austausch ein integraler Bestandteil dieser Arbeit. Vermittler*innen, die Raza vor Ort gecastet hat, begleiten die Besucher*innen, erklären ihnen wissenschaftliche Zusammenhänge, erzählen Geschichten und führen tägliche Rituale durch, wie die Überwachung und Analyse der Wasserqualität, die Filterung und die Remineralisierung von Wassermengen. Durch die Zusammenführung des Prozesshaften und des Relationalen unterstreicht Raza in diesem Werk die gegenseitige Abhängigkeit von Mensch und Umwelt.

Der Gedanke der Transformation – von Wissen und Substanz – wird durch verschiedene verwendete Materialien und Aktionen in der gesamten Ausstellung hervorgehoben. Während Holzkohlenscheite durch das Verbrennen von auf der Insel gesammelten Stöcken hergestellt werden, evoziert eine Sandbank das Aufeinanderprallen von Steinen – eine Referenz an natürliche und industrielle Veränderungsprozesse, die beide zentrale Aspekte der Evolution darstellen. Die gefilterten Sedimente aus dem Kanal liefern den Pflanzen im Ausstellungsraum lebenswichtige Nährstoffe zum Leben und Wachsen. Inspiriert vom Bild des Flussdeltas sind alle Elemente wie Arterien miteinander verbunden und bedingen sich gegenseitig. Diversion bildet ein Ökosystem, das der Künstler als Metabolismus beschreibt – die Synergie von menschlichem, pflanzlichem und mineralischem Leben. Durch die Verwendung alltäglicher Materialien wie Zeitungen, Picknicktische, Rohre und Krüge entwirft Raza eine Umgebung des kollektiven Gedächtnisses und schafft einen Ort der Zusammenkunft und Kontemplation. In diesem Sinne spielt der Titel Diversion sowohl auf den wörtlichen Umweg des Mains durch den Portikus als auch auf die Dringlichkeit an, vom Kurs abzuweichen.

Diversion wird begleitet von einer Künstlerzeitung, zusammengestellt von Asad Raza und Mathew Hale, mit Beiträgen von
Liberty Adrien, Arhun Aksakal, Sophia Al-Maria, Shane Anderson, Carina Bukuts, Keren Cytter, Manthia Diawara, Emily Dickinson, Olivia Fairweather, Dan Graham, Rufus Hale, Catalina Imizcoz, Prem Krishnamurthy, Wolfram Lotz, Adéla Součková, Joe Stahlmann, Elsa Stanyer, Bones Tan Jones und anderen. Die Zeitung wird von Studio Pandan gestaltet und mitherausgegeben von X Artists‘ Books, Los Angeles.

Kuratiert von Liberty Adrien und Carina Bukuts

Diversion wird ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung der Hessischen Kulturstiftung, des Kulturamtes der Stadt Frankfurt am Main und der Städelschule Portikus e.V.. Weitere Unterstützung erfolgt durch Oase.

www.portikus.de