Ongoing

Willem de Rooij "PIERRE VERGER IN SURINAME" at Portikus

Exhibition, 27 March – 18 July 2021

Summer semester 2021

Information, 12 April – 16 July 2021

Lectures Summer Semester 2021

Online Lecture, 20 April – 8 July 2021

Upcoming

Daniel Lie: Rotten Energy

Online Lecture, 24 June 2021, 19:00

Archive: 2021 NextPrevious

Eyal Weizman: Cloud Studies

Online Lecture, 1 June 2021, 19:00

Breaking Glass III – Virtual Space

Symposium, 28 – 30 May 2021

David Gianotten: Contextual Engagement

Online Lecture, 20 May 2021, 19:00

Ellie Ga: Artist talk

Online Lecture, 18 May 2021, 19:00

Hassan Khan class: AUTONATURA

Class Project, 14 – 16 May 2021

Etta Madete: OCHA-African Avant-Garde

Online Lecture, 11 May 2021, 19:00

Willem de Rooij class: Premiere

Class Project, 7 – 21 May 2021

Banu Cennetoğlu: neither a mirror nor a hammer

Online Lecture, 6 May 2021, 19:00

Elif Saydam: The House Always Wins

Online Lecture, 20 April 2021, 19:00

STADL: Schtorona

Radio Show, 19 – 21 February 2021, 18:00–19:00

Willem de Rooij Class: Raum I7

Class Project, 19 February 2021

Rungdang

Event, 19 – 21 February 2021, 16:00–20:00

Bani Abidi: Funland

Online Lecture, 16 February 2021, 19:00

Olga Balema

Online Lecture, 4 February 2021, 19:00

Henrike Naumann: Aesthetics of Power

Online Lecture, 28 January 2021, 19:00

The Otolith Group: Infinity Minus Infinity

Online Lecture, 21 January 2021, 19:00

Manuela Moscoso: Liverpool Biennial 2021

Online Lecture, 19 January 2021, 19:00

Jason Mohaghegh: Dreams of the Last King

Online Lecture, 12 January 2021, 19:00

Eyal Weizman: Cloud Studies

Online Lecture1 June 2021, 19:00online
Forensic Architecture, The Bombing of Rafah, film still, 2015, photo: Forensic ArchitectureForensic Architecture, The Bombing of Rafah, film still, 2015, photo: Forensic Architecture

Across the world, toxic tear gas is deployed to disperse bodies gathering in democratic protest, white phosphorus and chlorine gas to spread terror in cities, aerial herbicides to destroy arable land and ruin livelihoods, and large-scale arson to eradicate forests for industrial plantations. Mobilized by state and corporate powers, toxic clouds colonize the air we breathe across different scales and durations, from urban squares to continents, unique incidents to epochal latencies.
In the recent history of human rights, incidents of violence have been understood as momentary and kinetic: a gunshot or explosion, where ‘every contact leaves a trace’. But contemporary cloud studies require a different approach. In analysing airborne violence, causality is hard to demonstrate; the ‘contact’ and the ‘trace’ drift apart, carried away by winds or ocean currents. Clouds are transformative entities—their dynamics elusive and nonlinear. Around these toxic fogs, contemporary political conditions breed doubt and lethal scepticism; physical clouds become epistemological. When figures in power deny the realities of climate change or chemical strikes, those forced to inhabit the clouds must find new forms of resistance.

Eyal Weizman is the founding director of Forensic Architecture and Professor of Spatial and Visual Cultures at Goldsmiths, University of London. The author of over 15 books, he has held positions in many universities worldwide including Princeton, ETH Zurich and the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. He is a member of the Technology Advisory Board of the International Criminal Court and the Centre for Investigative Journalism. In 2019 he was elected life fellow of the British Academy and appointed Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) in the 2020 New Year Honours for services to architecture. In 2020 he was elected the Richard von Weizsäcker fellow at the Bosch Academy. Eyal studied architecture at the Architectural Association, graduating in 1998. He received his PhD in 2006 from the London Consortium at Birkbeck, University of London.

Registration 

The lecture will be held in English language.

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Heute

Ongoing

HYGIENEKONZEPT

Information, 9. Mai – 30. September 2022

Asad Raza "Diversion" im Portikus

Ausstellung, 25. Juni – 25. September 2022

Vorlesungsfreie Zeit Sommersemester 2022

Information, 18. Juli – 7. Oktober 2022

Demnächst: Oktober PreviousNext

Wintersemester 2022/23

Information, 10. Oktober 2022 – 10. Februar 2023

Archiv: 2022 NextPrevious

GASTHOF 2022 "OPEN HOUSE"

Veranstaltung, 9. Juli 2022

Hassan Khan: The Infinite Hip-Hop Song Live!

Konzert, 9. Juli 2022, 21:30–22:45

Gasthof im Robert Johnson

Party, 7. Juli 2022, 22:00

Curatorial Studies Klasse 2021: Three course Menu

Ausstellung, 5. – 10. Juli 2022

MEDIUM RARE — Absolventenausstellung 2022

Ausstellung, 2. – 17. Juli 2022

ALMOST ALIVE—Absolventenausstellung Party

Veranstaltung, 1. Juli 2022, 23:00

Absolventenpreise

Information, 1. – 10. Juli 2022

Asad Raza: Metabolisms

Vortrag, 21. Juni 2022, 19:00

Anthony Huberman: Bang on a Can

Vortrag, 13. Juni 2022, 19:00

Sung Tieu: Ghosts In The Machine

Vortrag, 7. Juni 2022, 19:00

Lecture: ruangrupa

Vortrag, 31. Mai 2022, 19:00

Lecture: Neïl Beloufa

Vortrag, 10. Mai 2022, 19:00

Vortragsreihe Sommersemester 2022

Vortrag, 26. April – 28. Juni 2022, 19:00

Laura Huertas Millán: Ethnographic fictions

Vortrag, 26. April 2022, 19:00

Sommersemester 2022

Information, 11. April – 15. Juli 2022

Daniel Birnbaum: Notes on the frames of art

Veranstaltung, 10. April 2022, 15:00–17:00

Jochen Lempert im Portikus

Ausstellung, 12. März – 5. Juni 2022

Vorlesungsfreie Zeit 2022

Information, 21. Februar – 10. April 2022

Rundgang-Preisträger*innen

Information, 18. – 20. Februar 2022

Judith Hopf Klasse: Grand Nizza Show

Class Project, 18. Februar – 11. März 2022

Rundgang 2022

Ausstellung, 18. – 20. Februar 2022, 10:00–20:00

Pan Daijing

Online Vortrag, 10. Februar 2022

Jordy Rosenberg: Lift Rift

Online Vortrag, 2. Februar 2022

Ulrike Müller: Moving More Parts

Online Vortrag, 25. Januar 2022

Park McArthur

Online Vortrag, 18. Januar 2022

Sam Durant: Public Discourse?

Online Vortrag, 11. Januar 2022

Eyal Weizman: Cloud Studies

Online Vortrag1. Juni 2021, 19:00online
Forensic Architecture, The Bombing of Rafah, Film Still, 2015, Foto: Forensic ArchitectureForensic Architecture, The Bombing of Rafah, Film Still, 2015, Foto: Forensic Architecture

Überall auf der Welt wird giftiges Tränengas eingesetzt, um Menschen, die sich zu demokratischen Protesten versammeln, auseinanderzutreiben, weißer Phosphor und Chlorgas, um Terror in Städten zu verbreiten, Herbizide aus der Luft, um Ackerland zu zerstören und Lebensgrundlagen zu vernichten, und Brandstiftung im großen Stil, um Wälder für industrielle Plantagen auszurotten. Mobilisiert von staatlichen und korporativen Mächten kolonisieren toxische Wolken die Luft, die wir atmen, über verschiedene Maßstäbe und Zeiträume hinweg–von städtischen Plätzen bis zu Kontinenten, von einmaligen Vorfällen bis zu epochalen Latenzen.
In der jüngeren Geschichte der Menschenrechte wurden Gewaltvorfälle als vorübergehende und kinetische Ereignisse interpretiert: ein Schuss oder eine Explosion, bei denen "jeder Kontakt eine Spur hinterlässt". Aber zeitgenössische Wolkenstudien erfordern einen anderen Ansatz. Bei der Analyse von Gewalt aus der Luft ist Kausalität schwer nachzuweisen; der "Kontakt" und die "Spur" driften auseinander, werden von Winden oder Meeresströmungen fortgetragen. Wolken sind transformative Gebilde–ihre Dynamik ist schwer fassbar und nichtlinear. Um diese giftigen Nebel herum kultivieren die gegenwärtigen politischen Bedingungen Zweifel und tödlichen Skeptizismus; physische Wolken werden epistemologisch. Wenn die Machthaber die Realitäten des Klimawandels oder der chemischen Angriffe leugnen, müssen diejenigen, die gezwungen sind, die Wolken zu bewohnen, neue Formen des Widerstands finden.

Eyal Weizman ist der Gründungsdirektor von Forensic Architecture und Professor für räumliche and visuelle Kulturen am Goldsmiths, University of London. Er verfasste über 15 Bücher und lehrte an zahlreichen Universitäten, u.a. der Princeton University, der ETH Zürich sowie der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien. Er gehört dem technologischen Beirat des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs in Den Haag sowie dem Vorstand des Centre for Investigative Journalism, London, an. Im Jahr 2019 wurde er Fellow der British Academy. Anfang 2020 wurde er für seine Dienste an der Architektur als Mitglied des Order of the British Empire (MBE) ausgewählt. Im Jahr 2020 wurde er außerdem zum Richard-von-Weizsäcker-Fellow der Bosch-Akademie ernannt. Eyal Weizman studierte Architektur an der Architectural Association School of Architecture in London und promovierte 2006 am London Consortium in Birkbeck, University of London.

Anmeldung

Der Vortrag findet in englischer Sprache statt.